The news is by your side.

Imran Khan, others to be inducted into PCB Hall of Fame

0 31

In an effort to further acknowledge and celebrate the achievements of Pakistan cricket stalwarts, PCB officials unanimously supported and approved the launch of the PCB Hall of Fame.

Initially, six members from the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame will be inducted into the PCB Hall of Fame.

There will be three more inductions each year from 2021 with the inductees to be chosen by an independent panel and announced on 16 October, day one of Pakistan’s inaugural Test in 1952.

Players retired from international cricket for, at least, five years will be eligible for induction into the PCB Hall of Fame.

PCB Chairman Ehsan Mani “Since earning the Test status, Pakistan has produced world-renowned cricketers who have not only put Pakistan on the world map but have left their mark on world cricket.

“There will be an initial intake of six ICC Cricket Hall of Famers – Hanif Mohammad, Imran Khan, Javed Miandad, Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis and Zaheer Abbas – who will be supplemented by three inductions in the PCB Hall of Fame each year starting from 16 October 2021. It is appropriate that these six extraordinary performers be the founding inductees as they continue to inspire the next generation of superstars.”

Model Constitution for Clubs

The BoG, in an effort to encourage, incentivise and recognise individuals supporting their clubs and following feedback from the relevant stakeholders, approved the following two amendments to the Model Constitution for Cricket Clubs:

Article 8.2(e) has been deleted. Article 8.2(e) read as“is not an incumbent office bearer of any political party, elected representative, Minister, Senator, MNA, MPA, MLA, Nazim, Naib Nazim, Councilor, a person who has contested general and/or local body elections in the last three years or draws financial or material support from any political, Religious, Ethnic or Sectarian party. In case any Office Bearer violates the provisions of this Article during his tenure, he will stand disqualified or shall be de-notified forthwith”

Article 8.4 has been modified to read as “The term of an Office Bearer shall be two years. Provided that the tenures of Office Bearers of the Club shall be calculated from the date that the election is notified under this Constitution.”

The BoG was informed 3,807 applications were received, which was a 22 per cent increase on club registrations prior to the inception of the new domestic cricket structure in August 2019. The scrutiny phase and next opportunity for the clubs to register will be available later this year.

The BoG was also updated on the progress made in operationalising the six Cricket Associations. The PCB has now received applications for Cricket Association chief executives and shortlisted candidates will subsequently be interviewed later this month before formal appointments are made. After the chief executives have been appointed, the recruitment process for General Manager – Cricket Operations and Manager – Accounts will commence.

In the very near future, the PCB will be inviting applications for City Cricket Association head coaches, which will open up employment opportunities for, at least, 90 former cricketers.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.